AI receptionists for New York businesses
An AI receptionist answers a call in Queens the same way it answers one in Ohio. What changes in New York is the law on recording calls, the state’s data security rule for the details callers give you, and the consent you need before an AI calls anyone back. Here are those facts from official sources, then every AI receptionist we track, compared for a New York business.
Facts last checked
New York facts that change the choice
From statutes and government data, each with its source and the date we read it. General information, not legal advice.
- Call recordingOne-party consent
- New York Penal Law § 250.00 defines wiretapping as recording a phone call by someone who is not a party to it, without the consent of either party. A business recording calls on its own line is a party to those calls.
- Source: New York State Senate, Penal Law § 250.00, checked
- Callers from New JerseyOne-party consent
- New Jersey also allows a party to a call to record it (N.J.S.A. 2A:156A-4(d)). A bill introduced in January 2026 (A1211) would require the consent of all parties; it had not become law when we checked. If you serve callers in all-party states, a short recording notice at the start of the call is the safe default.
- Source: NJ Legislature, Assembly Bill A1211 (2026–2027), showing current N.J.S.A. 2A:156A-4(d), checked
- Data securitySHIELD Act
- Any business that owns or licenses computerized private information of a New York resident must keep reasonable safeguards for it (General Business Law § 899-bb), with a scaled standard for small businesses. “Private information” covers details such as Social Security, driver’s license and account numbers, and medical or health insurance information, combined with a name. If callers give your receptionist those details, ask each vendor how recordings and transcripts are protected and who can see them.
- Source: New York State Senate, General Business Law § 899-bb, checked
- Outbound AI callsConsent required
- The FCC confirmed in February 2024 that AI-generated voices count as an "artificial or prerecorded voice" under the TCPA, so AI calls to customers generally need their prior express consent. This applies to outbound calling, not to answering your own line.
- Source: FCC Declaratory Ruling FCC 24-17, checked
Vocenya: an AI receptionist with people behind it
An AI receptionist that answers calls 24/7 in the business’s name, answers questions from its website and notes, books appointments and sends the owner a summary by app notification and email. Calls that need a person can be handed to GH Live, a staffed human answering team, for a per-business rate.
Call our AI receptionist: (732) 633-0055Hear it answer before you compare anything else.- Starting price
- Free trial
- HIPAA / BAA
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
AI receptionists for a New York business
Ordered by how many of these 5 checks each vendor meets with a published fact: Spanish listed, Transfers calls to a person, Books appointments, Publishes a price, Free trial or free plan. Then vendors that publish a price, then A to Z.
- Allo5/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
- $32/month per seat + $32/month AI Receptionistsource for starting price, checked Oct 3, 2026
Business seat ($32/month billed yearly, $45 billed monthly) plus the AI Receptionist add-on at $32/month per agent billed yearly, which follows the same annual or monthly billing
- Free trial
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
HIPAA Business Associate Agreement is a $50/month per workspace add-on.
- Languages
- English, French, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Says several languages, including English, French and Spanish.
- Dialzara5/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Business Lite, 60 receptionist minutes/month, billed monthly; $0.48/minute over
- Free trial
On inbound voice plans.
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
- FrontDesk5/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Pro billed monthly, 500 AI minutes, then $0.65 per minute; a free plan with 15 AI minutes a month remains after the trial
- Free trial
14-day Pro trial with 50 AI minutes, no credit card required.
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
Transfers to the practice’s own staff.
- HIPAA / BAA
A signed BAA on every plan at no extra cost.
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 5, 2026
- Rosie5/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Professional plan, 250 minutes per month
- Free trial
- Books appointments
Listed on the Scale plan ($149/month) and up; can also text a scheduling link.
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
- Smith.ai5/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Free plan with 25 calls/month ($3.00/call after); Pro is $150/month at about $2.00/call
- Free trial
25 calls per month on the free plan.
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
Warm transfers; calls can also go to a live North America-based receptionist as a per-call add-on.
- HIPAA / BAA
Its medical page says it is not HIPAA-compliant and cannot handle PHI.
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 5, 2026
- Vocenya5/5 checksOur productReady-made product
- Starting price
Value plan, 250 AI minutes, billed monthly, no contract
- Free trial
- Books appointments
Calendar booking on Growth and Pro.
- Transfers to a person
Warm transfers on Growth and Pro; GH Live human agents as an add-on.
- HIPAA / BAA
HIPAA mode with a BAA is built and opens to new practices once our BAA is published.
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
English and Spanish on every plan. Studio-voice plans (Starter and up) answer in many more languages and switch to the caller’s language.
- AgentZap4/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Starter, 150 minutes included, $0.85 per extra minute, plus a $499 one-time training and setup fee
- Free trial
- Not published
No free trial published; a 30-day money-back guarantee is offered instead.
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
Transfers to your team; live AgentZap agents are $2.50 per transferred call.
- HIPAA / BAA
States a signed BAA for every healthcare client handling PHI, included with the plan.
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 5, 2026
Additional languages available.
- Chatbase4/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Free plan: 50 message credits/month, 1 agent, 1 member. Paid Hobby is $40/month for 700 message credits and 2 members; voice and telephony start on Standard at $150/month (4,000 credits). The page offers 20% off yearly plans.
- Free trial
Paid plans offer a 7-day trial.
- Books appointments
Through Cal.com or Calendly actions.
- Transfers to a person
Voice calls can be forwarded to a phone number; chats can escalate to a helpdesk ticket.
- HIPAA / BAA
HIPAA-eligible on the Enterprise plan, which includes a HIPAA Business Associate Agreement with zero data retention.
- Languages
- Not published
- Intercom4/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
- $29/seat/monthsource for starting price, checked Oct 3, 2026
Intercom Essential plan, $29 per seat/mo (the page offers annual and monthly billing). Fin is charged on top at $0.99 per outcome, an outcome being a resolved conversation or a completed workflow, charged once per conversation. Phone and SMS usage is billed separately.
- Free trial
No credit card required; unlimited Fin outcomes during the trial.
- Books appointments
The Fin Voice page shows booking an appointment as an example action.
- Transfers to a person
Fin Voice passes calls to a human by live transfer, callback or workflow handoff.
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
“HIPAA support” is listed on the Expert plan ($132 per seat/mo); signing a BAA is not stated on the page.
- Languages
- Not published
Says Fin speaks dozens of languages; the Fin Voice page mentions 30-language support. No list published.
- MedReception AI4/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
MedReception Studio, self-serve, no setup fee; managed plans start at $495/month for 500 minutes
- Free trial
- Not published
A free demo is offered.
- Books appointments
EMR scheduling on managed plans; a one-time $1,500 add-on plus $99/month on Studio.
- Transfers to a person
Routes calls to the practice’s staff; no live answering team published.
- HIPAA / BAA
Signs a BAA for every deployment that touches PHI.
- Languages
- English, Spanish, French, Arabic, Portuguese, Creolesource for languages, checked Oct 5, 2026
On Studio, English is included and each additional language is $49/month.
- My AI Front Desk4/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Business-in-a-Box billed annually ($99/month billed monthly); 200 voice minutes, 100 chatbot conversations and 400 SMS per month
- Free trial
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
States HIPAA compliance with signed BAAs; plan conditions are not stated.
- Languages
- 20+ languages (not listed by name)source for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Says 20+ languages.
- Upfirst4/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
- $24.95/monthsource for starting price, checked Oct 3, 2026
Starter, 30 calls/month, billed monthly ($20/month billed annually); $1.50 per additional call
- Free trial
- Books appointments
On all plans.
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
BAAs are listed on the Custom plan only.
- Languages
- 35+ languages (not listed by name)source for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Says 35+ languages and switches automatically.
- WebFront AI4/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Basic, up to 200 minutes a month, plus a $199 setup fee
- Free trial
- Not published
A free demo call before any commitment is offered instead.
- Books appointments
On Standard and Premium.
- Transfers to a person
Urgent calls go to the owner’s cell.
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 5, 2026
- Retell AI4/5 checksDeveloper platform
- Starting price
- $0.07/minutesource for starting price, checked Oct 3, 2026
Pay as you go, no monthly platform fee. Voice agents cost $0.07–$0.31 per minute depending on the model, voice and features; telephony ($0.015/min US), phone numbers ($2/month) and add-ons are priced separately. Chat agents from $0.002 per message.
- Free trial
- $10 free creditssource for free trial, checked Oct 3, 2026
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
HIPAA / BAA is listed as an Enterprise plan feature.
- Languages
- English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Chinese, Cantonese, Japanese, Korean, Hindi, Arabicsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Docs list more than 50 languages; each depends on the chosen voice and speech-recognition provider.
- Synthflow4/5 checksDeveloper platform
- Starting price
- From $30,000/yearsource for starting price, checked Oct 3, 2026
Sales-led pricing: Enterprise contracts start at $30,000 a year, scoped around call volume, concurrency, telephony, integrations, security and launch support. No self-serve plan prices are published.
- Free trial
- Free to buildsource for free trial, checked Oct 3, 2026
The site says you can build an agent for free from templates; paid pricing is quoted by sales.
- Books appointments
Real-time booking, including Cal.com.
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
BAA signed at contract signing for customers who use the HIPAA Setting to process PHI.
- Languages
- English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Dutch, Hindi, Russian, Japanese, Mandarin, Koreansource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Docs list over 30 languages, plus a multilingual mode that switches between 10 of them.
- Goodcall3/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Starter, per agent, billed annually ($79/month billed monthly); unlimited minutes, 100 unique customers/month, then $0.50/customer
- Free trial
- Not published
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
Homepage lists HIPAA alongside SOC2 Type II and ISO27001. BAA terms are not published.
- Languages
- Not published
- Moneypenny3/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
AI Answering, 25 calls a month, then $2.49 per extra call
- Free trial
- Not published
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
To a Moneypenny receptionist or your own team.
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
Its human medical answering page says its software is HIPAA compliant; a BAA is not published, and the AI receptionist page does not mention HIPAA.
- Languages
- Not published
Spanish is published for its human receptionists; the AI receptionist’s languages are not published.
- Sameday AI3/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Launch plan, starts at $449 per month with 500 minutes
- Free trial
- Not published
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
- Languages
- Not published
Multilingual voices are listed on the Enterprise plan; languages are not named.
- Voksha3/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Starter, 15 calls included, then $1 per call
- Free trial
- Not published
The pricing FAQ describes a free demo call and a 7-day money-back guarantee rather than a free trial.
- Books appointments
Booking into Google Calendar, Outlook or iCloud is described on Premium.
- Transfers to a person
Transfers to the owner; no live answering team.
- HIPAA / BAA
A BAA is available on Enterprise only, from $990/month.
- Languages
English on Starter, 2 languages on Premium, multi-language on Enterprise, per the pricing table; the Newark page says 200+ languages.
- Bland AI3/5 checksDeveloper platform
- Starting price
- $0.14/minutesource for starting price, checked Oct 3, 2026
Start plan: $0.14 per minute with no platform fee; the rate covers the language model, speech-to-text, text-to-speech and telephony. Transfers are $0.05 per transfer minute. The Build plan is $0.12/min plus a $299/month platform fee.
- Free trial
- Free credits on sign-upsource for free trial, checked Oct 3, 2026
Start plan sign-up includes two credits and an inbound number, no card required.
- Books appointments
Scheduling with Cal.com and Calendly.
- Transfers to a person
Transfer minutes billed separately ($0.05/min on Start).
- HIPAA / BAA
HIPAA-eligible with a signed BAA.
- Languages
- 40+ languages (not listed by name)source for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Says 40+ languages natively, with real-time translation in 23 of them.
- Vapi3/5 checksDeveloper platform
- Starting price
- $0.05/minutesource for starting price, checked Oct 3, 2026
Pre-paid $0.05/min Vapi hosting fee with no monthly fee on the usage-only option. Transcriber, language model, voice and telephony provider costs are charged on top per minute. Optional Core support package is $29/month.
- Free trial
- $5 free creditssource for free trial, checked Oct 3, 2026
- Books appointments
Via the Google Calendar tool.
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
Paid add-on at $2,000/month including a signed BAA; HIPAA-compliant providers only.
- Languages
- 40+ languages (not listed by name)source for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Docs say Vapi voices cover 40+ languages; coverage depends on the speech and voice providers chosen.
- Hatch2/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
- Not published
Platform fee plus usage, annual plans paid monthly per location; amounts not published
- Free trial
- Not published
The pricing FAQ says no pilot or trial is published.
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
- Languages
- Not published
- Numa2/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
- Not published
- Free trial
- Not published
- Books appointments
Books service appointments during the call.
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
- Languages
- Not published
- Podium1/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
- Not published
Pricing is by sales quote; the AI Employee is an add-on to any plan.
- Free trial
- Not published
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- Not published
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
- Languages
- Not published
What this means when you choose
- Ask where recordings and transcripts live. Under the SHIELD Act you are responsible for reasonable safeguards over the private information callers give you. A vendor should be able to say who can open a recording and how long it is kept.
- A recording notice you control. New York and New Jersey are one-party consent states, but callers from all-party states may reach you. Pick a receptionist that lets you play a short notice.
- Languages on your plan. New York City callers speak dozens of languages. Check which languages each vendor lists, and on which plan, not just on the home page.
- A person for the calls that need one. A tenant with no heat in January or a patient who is upset needs a human. Check whether the receptionist can transfer to your phone or to a staffed team.
- Consent before any AI call-back. If you want the receptionist to call leads back, it has to keep consent records and respect Do Not Call lists.
This page is general information, not legal advice. If you record calls across state lines, handle health or financial details, or run outbound campaigns, talk to a New York attorney.
Where Vocenya fits
Vocenya is a New Jersey company that focuses on New Jersey and New York City businesses, from Manhattan offices to Queens contractors. Read our New York City page, the guide to an AI receptionist in NYC and bilingual answering in NJ and NYC, or see why we publish what we do. The table below includes Vocenya with the same fields as everyone else.
Vocenya in New York
Guides for New York businesses
Questions from New York owners
Is it legal for an AI receptionist to record calls in New York?
New York Penal Law § 250.00 treats recording a call as wiretapping only when it is done by someone who is not a party to the call, without the consent of either party. Your business is a party to calls on its own line. Callers in all-party consent states are a reason to play a short recording notice. This is general information, not legal advice.
Does the SHIELD Act apply to an AI receptionist?
The SHIELD Act (General Business Law § 899-bb) applies to any business that owns or licenses computerized private information of New York residents, such as account numbers or medical information combined with a name. If your callers share those details, the recordings and transcripts that hold them need reasonable safeguards, so ask each vendor how they are protected. This is general information, not legal advice.
Can an AI receptionist call New York customers back?
Only with consent. The FCC treats AI-generated voices as artificial voices under the TCPA, so outbound AI calls to customers generally need their prior express consent, plus Do Not Call checks. Answering your own line is different and needs no special consent.
Hear it answer as your business, right now.
Put in your website. Vocenya builds your receptionist from it and calls your phone so you can hear it. 14-day free trial, keep your number, cancel any time.
Hear it yourself
Call (732) 633-0055Our AI receptionist picks up. Ask it anything, or have it answer as your business.