Ruby alternatives: live and AI receptionists
Ruby provides live virtual receptionists billed by monthly minutes. People comparing alternatives are usually weighing another live service against an AI receptionist that answers every call for a flat price, or a mix of both. Here are Ruby’s published facts next to the alternatives we track.
Facts last checked
Ruby, as published
Small businesses that want live human receptionists answering calls, with English-Spanish coverage and per-minute plans. Full Ruby listing
- Starting price
Virtual receptionist plan with 50 minutes per month. No activation, onboarding or setup fees. Overage rate not published.
- Free trial
- Not published
- Books appointments
Receptionists schedule appointments.
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
Plans list HIPAA-compliant services; signing a BAA is not stated on the page.
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
24/7 Spanish and bilingual call handling available.
Why people compare
- Minutes or a flat plan
- Ruby’s plans are blocks of minutes. AI receptionists usually sell a monthly plan with included minutes or calls. Compare the billing basis under each price with your real call volume.
- A person on every call
- A live receptionist on every call is what Ruby offers, and for some businesses that is the right choice. If only some of your calls need a person, an AI receptionist with transfers or a staffed backup team may cover them for less.
- Spanish
- Ruby lists English and Spanish. Check the languages column for the plan you would buy from any alternative.
Vocenya: an AI receptionist with people behind it
An AI receptionist that answers calls 24/7 in the business’s name, answers questions from its website and notes, books appointments and texts or emails the owner a summary. Calls that need a person can be handed to GH Live, a staffed human answering team, for a per-business rate.
Call our AI receptionist: (732) 633-0055Hear it answer before you compare anything else.- Starting price
- Free trial
- HIPAA / BAA
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
19 alternatives to Ruby
Ordered by how many of these 5 checks each vendor meets with a published fact: Transfers calls to a person, Books appointments, Publishes a price, Free trial or free plan, Spanish listed. Then vendors that publish a price, then A to Z.
- Allo5/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
- $32/month per seat + $32/month AI Receptionistsource for starting price, checked Oct 3, 2026
Business seat ($32/month billed yearly, $45 billed monthly) plus the AI Receptionist add-on at $32/month per agent billed yearly, which follows the same annual or monthly billing
- Free trial
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
HIPAA Business Associate Agreement is a $50/month per workspace add-on.
- Languages
- English, French, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Says several languages, including English, French and Spanish.
- Dialzara5/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Business Lite, 60 receptionist minutes/month, billed monthly; $0.48/minute over
- Free trial
On inbound voice plans.
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
- Rosie5/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Professional plan, 250 minutes per month
- Free trial
- Books appointments
Listed on the Scale plan ($149/month) and up; can also text a scheduling link.
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
- Smith.ai5/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Free plan with 25 calls/month ($3.00/call after); Pro is $150/month at about $2.00/call
- Free trial
25 calls per month on the free plan.
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
Warm transfers; calls can also go to a live North America-based receptionist as a per-call add-on.
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
- Vocenya5/5 checksOur productReady-made product
- Starting price
Value plan, 250 AI minutes, billed monthly, no contract
- Free trial
- Books appointments
Calendar booking on Growth and Pro.
- Transfers to a person
Warm transfers on Growth and Pro; GH Live human agents as an add-on.
- HIPAA / BAA
HIPAA mode, a $150/month add-on, includes a signed BAA.
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
English and Spanish on every plan. Studio-voice plans (Starter and up) answer in many more languages and switch to the caller’s language.
- Chatbase4/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Free plan: 50 message credits/month, 1 agent, 1 member. Paid Hobby is $40/month for 700 message credits and 2 members; voice and telephony start on Standard at $150/month (4,000 credits). The page offers 20% off yearly plans.
- Free trial
Paid plans offer a 7-day trial.
- Books appointments
Through Cal.com or Calendly actions.
- Transfers to a person
Voice calls can be forwarded to a phone number; chats can escalate to a helpdesk ticket.
- HIPAA / BAA
HIPAA-eligible on the Enterprise plan, which includes a HIPAA Business Associate Agreement with zero data retention.
- Languages
- Not published
- Intercom4/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
- $29/seat/monthsource for starting price, checked Oct 3, 2026
Intercom Essential plan, $29 per seat/mo (the page offers annual and monthly billing). Fin is charged on top at $0.99 per outcome, an outcome being a resolved conversation or a completed workflow, charged once per conversation. Phone and SMS usage is billed separately.
- Free trial
No credit card required; unlimited Fin outcomes during the trial.
- Books appointments
The Fin Voice page shows booking an appointment as an example action.
- Transfers to a person
Fin Voice passes calls to a human by live transfer, callback or workflow handoff.
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
“HIPAA support” is listed on the Expert plan ($132 per seat/mo); signing a BAA is not stated on the page.
- Languages
- Not published
Says Fin speaks dozens of languages; the Fin Voice page mentions 30-language support. No list published.
- My AI Front Desk4/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Business-in-a-Box billed annually ($99/month billed monthly); 200 voice minutes, 100 chatbot conversations and 400 SMS per month
- Free trial
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
States HIPAA compliance with signed BAAs; plan conditions are not stated.
- Languages
- 20+ languages (not listed by name)source for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Says 20+ languages.
- Upfirst4/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
- $24.95/monthsource for starting price, checked Oct 3, 2026
Starter, 30 calls/month, billed monthly ($20/month billed annually); $1.50 per additional call
- Free trial
- Books appointments
On all plans.
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
BAAs are listed on the Custom plan only.
- Languages
- 35+ languages (not listed by name)source for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Says 35+ languages and switches automatically.
- Retell AI4/5 checksDeveloper platform
- Starting price
- $0.07/minutesource for starting price, checked Oct 3, 2026
Pay as you go, no monthly platform fee. Voice agents cost $0.07–$0.31 per minute depending on the model, voice and features; telephony ($0.015/min US), phone numbers ($2/month) and add-ons are priced separately. Chat agents from $0.002 per message.
- Free trial
- $10 free creditssource for free trial, checked Oct 3, 2026
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
HIPAA / BAA is listed as an Enterprise plan feature.
- Languages
- English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Chinese, Cantonese, Japanese, Korean, Hindi, Arabicsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Docs list more than 50 languages; each depends on the chosen voice and speech-recognition provider.
- Synthflow4/5 checksDeveloper platform
- Starting price
- From $30,000/yearsource for starting price, checked Oct 3, 2026
Sales-led pricing: Enterprise contracts start at $30,000 a year, scoped around call volume, concurrency, telephony, integrations, security and launch support. No self-serve plan prices are published.
- Free trial
- Free to buildsource for free trial, checked Oct 3, 2026
The site says you can build an agent for free from templates; paid pricing is quoted by sales.
- Books appointments
Real-time booking, including Cal.com.
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
BAA signed at contract signing for customers who use the HIPAA Setting to process PHI.
- Languages
- English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Dutch, Hindi, Russian, Japanese, Mandarin, Koreansource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Docs list over 30 languages, plus a multilingual mode that switches between 10 of them.
- Goodcall3/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Starter, per agent, billed annually ($79/month billed monthly); unlimited minutes, 100 unique customers/month, then $0.50/customer
- Free trial
- Not published
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
Homepage lists HIPAA alongside SOC2 Type II and ISO27001. BAA terms are not published.
- Languages
- Not published
- Sameday AI3/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
Launch plan, starts at $449 per month with 500 minutes
- Free trial
- Not published
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
- Languages
- Not published
Multilingual voices are listed on the Enterprise plan; languages are not named.
- AnswerConnect3/5 checksLive answering service
- Starting price
- Not published
Plans are a set monthly amount based on minutes, with a per-minute overage fee; prices are given through a form or sales call.
- Free trial
- Not published
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
Offers a HIPAA-compliant option for portal messages with health information; signing a BAA is not stated on the page.
- Languages
- English, Spanishsource for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Bilingual routing is an add-on with a small additional monthly charge.
- Bland AI3/5 checksDeveloper platform
- Starting price
- $0.14/minutesource for starting price, checked Oct 3, 2026
Start plan: $0.14 per minute with no platform fee; the rate covers the language model, speech-to-text, text-to-speech and telephony. Transfers are $0.05 per transfer minute. The Build plan is $0.12/min plus a $299/month platform fee.
- Free trial
- Free credits on sign-upsource for free trial, checked Oct 3, 2026
Start plan sign-up includes two credits and an inbound number, no card required.
- Books appointments
Scheduling with Cal.com and Calendly.
- Transfers to a person
Transfer minutes billed separately ($0.05/min on Start).
- HIPAA / BAA
HIPAA-eligible with a signed BAA.
- Languages
- 40+ languages (not listed by name)source for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Says 40+ languages natively, with real-time translation in 23 of them.
- Vapi3/5 checksDeveloper platform
- Starting price
- $0.05/minutesource for starting price, checked Oct 3, 2026
Pre-paid $0.05/min Vapi hosting fee with no monthly fee on the usage-only option. Transcriber, language model, voice and telephony provider costs are charged on top per minute. Optional Core support package is $29/month.
- Free trial
- $5 free creditssource for free trial, checked Oct 3, 2026
- Books appointments
Via the Google Calendar tool.
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
Paid add-on at $2,000/month including a signed BAA; HIPAA-compliant providers only.
- Languages
- 40+ languages (not listed by name)source for languages, checked Oct 3, 2026
Docs say Vapi voices cover 40+ languages; coverage depends on the speech and voice providers chosen.
- Hatch2/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
- Not published
Platform fee plus usage, annual plans paid monthly per location; amounts not published
- Free trial
- Not published
The pricing FAQ says no pilot or trial is published.
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
- Languages
- Not published
- Numa2/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
- Not published
- Free trial
- Not published
- Books appointments
Books service appointments during the call.
- Transfers to a person
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
- Languages
- Not published
- Podium1/5 checksReady-made product
- Starting price
- Not published
Pricing is by sales quote; the AI Employee is an add-on to any plan.
- Free trial
- Not published
- Books appointments
- Transfers to a person
- Not published
- HIPAA / BAA
- Not published
- Languages
- Not published
Hear it answer as your business, right now.
Put in your website. Vocenya builds your receptionist from it and calls your phone so you can hear it. 14-day free trial, keep your number, cancel any time.
Hear it yourself
Call (732) 633-0055Our AI receptionist picks up. Ask it anything, or have it answer as your business.